Feature Story                                                                                                            Tuesday March 27, 2012


Perfect Courage

RCMP honour their own and some everyday heroes at Awards Ceremony

Craig Hill/Voice photos


2012 RCMP award recipients take the stage at the Chilliwack Cultural Centre last Friday.



here do you go when you want to meet a real life hero in Chilliwack? You go to the 2012 Upper Fraser Valley Regional Detachment's "Recognizing Excellence" Awards Ceremony of course.


There you'll find the best of the best Mounties sworn to serve and protect the community of Chilliwack. You’ll also run into normal everyday people who through fate and circumstance have been transformed into citizen super heroes.


Last Friday, approximately 34 Mounties and 20 civilians assembled at the Chilliwack Cultural Centre to receive their awards.


Assistant Commissioner Norm Lipinski accompanied Staff Sergeant Gerry Falk who emceed the prestigious UFVRD event and Superintendent Keith Robinson who handed out medals, glass trophies, clasps, stars, pins, certificates of appreciation and citizen commendations to an extensive list of recipients.


Dignitaries at the crimson affair included Chilliwack Mayor Sharon Gaetz, Harrison Hot Springs Mayor Leo Facio, Hope Mayor Susan Johnston and Kent Mayor John Van Laerhoven.


One of the highlights of the evening came when Falk was given the Long Service award for 40-years of duty. The force also recognized Times reporter Tyler Olsen for his crime reporting and ride-along coverage.


See more photos below.


© Copyright (c) 2012 The Valley Voice
































































































































































The end of the gallery. Thanks for looking. Return to the main page here.