Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Community Sports

Time to Rock

Chilliwack Women's Sr. curling team advances to BC finals

Released by Rebecca Price, Curling BC/Photo submitted


The Chilliwack Sr. Women's curling Team Deputan are all smiles after advancing to the finals.


he field is set for the 2014 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships - and competition to travel to the first national curling event to be staged in the Northwest Territories is set to be fierce.


Eight senior men's and eight senior women's teams from across the province will meet at the Comox Valley Curling Club in Courtenay, B.C., to determine who will go to Yellowknife.
With qualification events now over, the full line-up for the 2014 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships, taking place from Feb. 17-23, has been released.

Teams from Kelowna, Elkford, Smithers, Vancouver, Langley, White Rock, Victoria and Campbell River will compete in the men's championship. Teams from Castlegar, Tsawwassen, Langley, New Westminster, Chilliwack, Parksville, Nanaimo and Summerland will compete in the women's championship.

A senior men's winner and a senior women's winner will travel to Yellowknife from Mar. 20-30, 2014, for nationals.

"The Comox Valley Curling Club is proud to be hosting the 2014 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships and is getting ready to welcome over 64 curlers and their families who will be visiting the Comox Valley from all over the province," said event Chair Judy Francis.

To see the results of all the draws leading up to this event, visit www.playdowns.com  and click on Curl BC. Visit www.curlbc.ca for more about Curl BC.

Team Gelowitz - Kelowna
Skip: Gerry Gelowitz (Kelowna)
Third: Gerry Richard (Kelowna)
Second: Grant Snow (Kelowna)
Lead: Dennis Case (Kelowna)
Team McHargue - Elkford
Skip: Ken McHargue (Elkford)
Third: Gerald Kent (Cranbrook)
Second: Grant Klapp (Elkford)
Lead: Bruce Young (Cranbrook)
Team Vanderstar - Smithers
Skip: Ron Vanderstar (Smithers)
Third: Lyle Hensrud (Mackenzie)
Second: Len Vanderstar (Smithers)
Lead: Al Wiensczyk (Prince George)
Team Craig - Victoria
Skip: Wes Craig (Shawnigan Lake)
Third: Blair Cusack (Sooke)
Second: Tony Anslow (Victoria)
Lead: Kevin Britt (Victoria)
Team Thulin - Campbell River
Skip: Dean Thulin (Campbell River)
Third: Lyle Boyce (Campbell River)
Second: Brad Sullivan (Campbell River)
Lead: Tom Green (Campbell River)
Team Watson - Vancouver
Skip: Ken Watson (Surrey)
Third: Dale Hockley (Chilliwack)
Second: Randy Nelson (Kamloops)
Lead: Dale Reibin (North Vancouver)
Team MacDonald - Langley
Fourth: Richard Brower (Surrey)
Third: Jan Bos (Vancouver)
Second: Ted Stanyer (Langley)
Lead/Skip: Larry MacDonald (Surrey)
Team Lepine - Peace Arch
Skip: Craig Lepine (Surrey)
Third: Stan Walker (Vancouver)
Second: Berry Breton (Surrey)
Lead: Mike Pelech (Surrey)

Team Nichol - Castlegar
Skip: Heather Nichol (Castlegar)
Third: Rose Beauchamp (Trail)
Second: Sue Babiarz (Castlegar)
Lead: Cindy Pettapiece (Castlegar)
Team Kern - Tunnel Town
Skip: Joanne Kern (Vancouver)
Third: Patti Mackintosh (Tsawwassen)
Second: Shelley Elphick (Tsawwassen)
Lead: Cindy Phillip (Tsawwassen)
Team Clark - Langley
Skip: Gwen Clark (Langley)
Third: Connie Stunden (Surrey)
Second: Linda Palm (Surrey)
Lead: Sharon MacDonald (Surrey)
Team Smiley - Royal City
Skip: Kathy Smiley (North Vancouver)
Third: Kerri Miller (Delta)
Second: Connie Bailey (Richmond)
Lead: Jane Cuthbertson (Vancouver)
Coach: Brad Burton
Team Deputan - Chilliwack
Skip: Lisa Deputan (Chilliwack)
Third: Janet Klebe (Chilliwack)
Second: Laura Wigham (Chilliwack)
Lead: Jane Adams (Rosedale)
Coach: Doug Marshall

Team Shantz - Parksville
Skip: Penny Shantz (Nanoose Bay)
Third: Sandra Jenkins (Salmon Arm)
Second: Debbie Pulack (Nanaimo)
Lead: Kate Horne (Salmon Arm)
Coach: Darryl Horne
Team Witt - Nanaimo
Skip: Katie Witt (Coquitlam)
Third: Gloria Palinkas (Nanaimo)
Second: Linda Torgerson (Nanaimo)
Lead: Janet Harris (Surrey)
Fifth: Glynis Davies (Nanaimo)
Team Blashko - Summerland
Skip: Lil Blashko (Kaleden)
Third: Cindy Curtain (Penticton)
Second: Sylvia Lowe (Oliver)
Lead: Tammy Brennan (Summerland)
Fifth: Diane Tetreault (Oliver)

About Curl BC
Curl BC is the provincial sport governing body responsible for the development, promotion and organization of curling in British Columbia. Curl BC is also responsible for the championship system that declares provincial representation at National events. In cooperation with its Members, Curl BC provides services to both competitive and recreational curlers, including a variety of adaptive groups. For more information, visit www.curlbc.ca.



Copyright (c) 2014 The Valley Voice