Thursday, Feb 9, 2017 



Clash of the Titans

Two top teams face-off gear up for tonight in Abby
Rebecca Connop-Price, Curl BC


Team Tardi (above) squares off with Team Geall Thursday night in Abbotsford.


eam Morris, with six-time BC champion Jim Cotter, from Vernon, throwing last rocks, had a smooth start on the road to the A Event final. They defeated Kimberley’s Tom Buchy rink 9-2 in draw 2, then went on to defeat Royal City’s Team Bilesky in this morning’s draw. It was a close affair, with Team Morris trailing 5-6 after the ninth end. But Morris, whose team also includes Kelowna’s Tyrel Griffith (four-time BC Men’s champion) and Rick Sawatsky (six-time BC Men’s champion), managed a score of three in the tenth end for a 8-6 win over Bilesky.


Team Geall is the other undefeated team in the championship. Abbotsford-based Sean Geall, a silver medalist from last year’s event, is backed by the Kelowna trio of Jeff Richard, Brendan Willis and David Harper. The team defeated Team Jackson 7-6 in draw 2 yesterday, despite giving up steals in the ninth and tenth ends. In their second game, they were leading against Royal City & Victoria’s Team McArdle but gave up a score of four in the seventh end and had to battle back with two deuces in the eighth and tenth ends for an 8-7 win.


The Morris vs Geall match-up, tonight (February 9) at 7pm, will give the winner the chance to play in the page 1 vs 2 playoffs, where they can earn a bye to the final on Sunday.


In the draws this afternoon, teams will be battling for the B Event qualification spot. Among the contenders are Team Tardi, the recent national junior champions from Langley/Surrey and Team Joanisse, of Golden Ears Winter Club, last year’s bronze medalists.


The 2017 belairdirect BC Men’s Curling Championship, presented by Fountain Tire, started on Wednesday at Abbotsford Curling Club and runs until Sunday, February 12.


This event showcases the top 12 men’s teams from across the province and will decide the BC team that will go on to compete at the 2017 Tim Hortons Brier.


The event format is a triple knockout draw with a four-team page playoff. Curling fans are welcome to watch the action at the club. The schedule can be found at


Teams from Burnaby/New Westminster, the Kootenays, Victoria and Vancouver Island, Kelowna, Vernon, Vancouver, Richmond and Surrey qualified for the event. Visit for a complete team roster, including home towns of all the curlers.


For live scores and the draw schedule, visit


Four playoff games will be televised on Shaw TV on February 11 and 12. For the television coverage or for more information about the Curl BC championship, visit:





© 2008-2017 The Valley Voice News | All Rights Reserved