Wednesday April 25, 2012


The Heart of the Community

Harrison Mills woman receives Lt.-Gov "Community Award"  

Released by Nora Newlands, BCAF/Voice file photo


ong-time volunteer, Mary McGhee, was recognized in Victoria Wednesday for her community service volunteer work.


According to the BC Achievement website, "Mary McGhee has had a profound impact on the community of Harrison Mills. For the past 50 years, she has served in every capacity on each of the Boards, clubs, associations and societies in the community. From the Kilby Historic Site to the Harrison Community Club to the Fraser River Heritage Historical Society. Mary's contributions are immeasurable."

Thirty-six British Columbians were honoured today at the ninth annual BC Community Achievement Awards ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

Lieutenant Governor Steven Point and Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development Ida Chong presented each recipient with a BC Community Achievement Award medallion and certificate.

"Strong communities start with people like those we are honouring here today - individuals who demonstrate excellence by going above and beyond to change the lives of others and make B.C. a better place for families," said Minister Chong. "These individuals exemplify inspired leadership and stand as an example to others of what it means to be passionate, dedicated and community-oriented. It is an honour for me to recognize their achievements."

"Today's honourees give the most valuable of life's commodities, time and energy," said Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation. "All have demonstrated a commitment to making a real difference in some many areas from education to sport to youth and seniors leadership."

A list of the recipients follows and a brief summary of their achievements can be found on the foundation's website at:

The following individuals received BC Community Achievement Awards:

  • Ron Antalek of Maple Ridge

  • Dr. Roger H. Barnsley of Parksville

  • Catherine Belleau of Alkali Lake

  • Jerome Bouvier of Coquitlam

  • Romi Chandra Herbert of Vancouver

  • Michael Chiu of Richmond

  • Russ & Ellen Cmolik of Surrey

  • Wendy Lisogar-Cocchia & Sergio Cocchia of West Vancouver

  • Dr. Ewa Czaykowska-Higgins of Victoria

  • Ambo Dhaliwal of Kamloops

  • Dr. Andrew Eisen of Vancouver

  • Al Etmanski & Vickie Cammack of Surrey

  • Joyce Fraser of Princeton

  • Lorna Gibbs of Vancouver

  • Anne Hebert of Trail

  • Werner Heine of 100 Mile House

  • Debra Hewson of West Vancouver

  • Larry Jorgenson of Bella Bella

  • David Sanghyuck Kim of Nanaimo

  • Kelly Klein of North Vancouver

  • Alan Markwart of Victoria

  • Joe Martin of Tofino

  • Mary McGhee of Harrison Mills

  • Virginia Russell of Prince George

  • Glen Saunders of Prince Rupert

  • Leonard Schein of Vancouver

  • Trevis (Wes) Sissons of Quesnel

  • Brad Skeats of Vancouver

  • Lori Slater of Fort St. John

  • Daphne Solecki of Vancouver

  • Donna Spencer of Vancouver

  • Steve Wilson of West Vancouver

  • Wolfgang Zimmermann of Port Alberni

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. This year's council members are Mayor Larry Cross of Sidney, Mayor Mary Sjostrom of Quesnel, and past recipients Jane Frost of Vancouver (2006), Marlene Grinnell of Langley (2006), and Patrick Kelly of Victoria (2009).

The British Columbia Community Achievement Awards are generously sponsored by Postmedia Network, whose presence in B.C. includes daily newspapers, The Vancouver Sun, The Province, and The National Post.

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent organization established and endowed by the Province of B.C. to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. Launched in 2003, the awards were the first initiative of the foundation, followed by the B.C. Creative Achievement Award for Applied Art and Design, B.C.'s National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, the B.C. Creative Achievement Award for First Nations' Art, and the B.C. Aboriginal Business Awards.


Copyright (c) 2012 The Valley Voice