Home  Horoscopes Crime News Fishing Community Letters Contact







Nelson Art council calls for writer's pieces, deadline May 17


Art Carver loved the arts.








he Nelson and District Arts Council and Elephant Mountain Literary Festival request  assistance in nominating emerging writers in West Kootenay communities for the 7​th​ Annual  Carver Award, which comes with a $500 cash prize and presentation at the Festival’s ‘Wine  and Crime’ Gala in Nelson on July 12, 2019.   


Nominations must be for writers just starting in their careers who have had one to two books  published, or an equivalent body of work published in anthologies or literary journals. To meet  the criteria writing must be creative, literary writing (fiction or nonfiction). Self-published  authors are eligible. Nominees must be a resident of the West Kootenays.   


Nominations must include name and contact information for both the nominator and the  nominee, writing discipline (fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, teen, children’s, etc), titles of  published works and their publishers, and a paragraph outlining the reason for the nomination.    


Richard Carver was a lover of the arts and the Kootenays, and he was invested in the  community. He was a mover and shaker on the board of the Nelson and District Arts Council,  the primary sponsor of this award named in his honour. His daughter and arts lover herself  Jocelyn Carver has continued the family’s generous support of this award.     


"Richard believed in creative endeavour for its own sake,” says friend and EMLF committee  member Anne DeGrace. “He believed in the process, and he was always generous with his  encouragement.”    


After Richard passed away in 2009, the Arts Council founded this award, which has been  awarded six times. Children’s author Darcee O’Hearne was the recipient in 2013, followed by  poet Jane Byers in 2014. In 2015 the Elephant Mountain Literary Festival became a partner in  the award, and that year the award was split between two deserving authors, Susan Dancer and  Avi Silberstein.


The recipients in 2016 were Donna MacDonald and Alanda Greene. In 2017 the  recipient was Diana Morita Cole and in 2018 for the 6th annual award it was split again and  bestowed on Morty Mint and ​Ernst Hekkanen.     


For more information, please visit the Nelson and District Arts Council website at  ndac.ca. Nominations and inquiries may be sent via e-mil here ​with “Carver Award” in the subject line.​ The deadline for nominations is Friday, May 17th  2019​. 






© 2008-2018 The Valley Voice News | All Rights Reserved