Friday, March 14, 2014

Curling News

Kootenay Bark

Teams Will and Jefferies ace Masters Championship

Released by Rebecca Price, Curl BC


Team Will took home gold in the BC Masters Curling Championship. Below, Team Jefferies also took gold.


he Kootenay team of Ralph Will and the Vancouver Island team of Lorraine Jeffries were the top teams at the 2014 BC Masters Curling Championship. The teams will head to Coaldale, Alberta, from March 31 to April 6 for the 2014 Canadian Masters Curling Championships.

This is the second BC masters title in a row for Jeffries, who played third for the 2013 BC champions, Team Lepine.

The men’s and women’s championships were both close at the top.

After round robin play, four men’s teams were tied in first, with five wins apiece: Team Will, of Sparwood and Cranbrook curling clubs, Team Gelowitz, of Kelowna Curling Club, Team Moore, of Golden Ears Winter Club in Maple Ridge, and Team Watson, of Vancouver Curling Club.

The teams were then seeded based on their results against each other and a page playoff round was held.  Second-placed Team Gelowitz, with a win over first-placed Team Will, got the bye to the final. Meanwhile, the two teams tied for third place, Team Watson and Team Moore, played in a page 3-4 playoff, with Team Moore advancing. Team Will then faced Team Moore in the semi-finals on Sunday morning, winning 4-3.

The Sparwood/Cranbrook team of skip Ralph Will, third Gerald Kent, second Peter Sweetman and lead Glenn Jaeb, then faced Team Gelowitz again in the final, and were able to reverse the result,  winning 7-2.

On the women’s side, Team McFadden, from the Royal City Curling Club, went through round robin play undefeated, winning a bye to Sunday’s final.

Team Jeffries, from the Alberni Valley Curling Club, finished with a 5-2 record, and Team Gallaway and Team Lepine were tied for third place with 4-3 records.

A tiebreaker win for Team Lepine, skipped by 2013 seniors and masters champion Karen Lepine, moved them on to the semi-finals.

But Team Lepine were unable to get past Team Jeffries, with Lorraine Jeffries at skip, Zorka Smith at third, Eilene Mitton at second and Trudy Beskau at lead in the semi-final. The Port Alberni team scored a deuce in the eighth end to wrap up the game 8-7.

Team Jeffries then went on to play Team McFadden in the final. They scored a deuce in the second and a three-ender in the sixth on their way to a 7-3 victory.


GOLD: Team Will – Sparwood/Cranbrook

Skip: Ralph Will – Fernie
Third: Gerald Kent – Cranbrook
Second: Peter Sweetman – Cranbrook
Lead: Glenn Jaeb – Fernie

SILVER: Team Gelowitz – Kelowna

Skip: Garry Gelowitz – Kelowna
Third: Wayne Saboe – Kamloops
Second: Grant Snow – Kelowna
Lead: Dennis Case – Kelowna

BRONZE: Team Moore – Golden Ears, Maple Ridge

Skip: Garth Moore – Coquitlam
Third: Pierre Gallant – Coquitlam
Second: Murray Day – Maple Ridge
Lead: Gary Smith – Langley


GOLD: Team Jeffries – Alberni Valley

Skip: Lorraine Jeffries – Port Alberni
Third: Zorka Smith – Nanaimo
Second: Eilene Mitton – Nanaimo
Lead: Trudy Beskau – Port Alberni

SILVER: Team McFadden – Royal City

Skip: Carol McFadden – Coquitlam
Third: Mona Bassett – Burnaby
Second: Monica Hunter – North Vancouver
Lead: Ann MacLeod – Burnaby

BRONZE: Team Lepine – Langley

Skip: Karen Lepine – Surrey
Third: Susan Beuk – Surrey
Second: Diane Jarvos – Surrey
Lead: Claire Morrison – Aldergrove

About Curl BC
Curl BC is the provincial sport governing body responsible for the development, promotion and organization of curling in British Columbia. Curl BC is also responsible for the championship system that declares provincial representation at National events. In cooperation with its Members, Curl BC provides services to both competitive and recreational curlers, including a variety of adaptive groups.

Web: | Like our Facebook page | Follow us on Twitter @CurlBC


© Copyright (c) 2009-2014 The Valley Voice