Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Curling News

Berth Battles

Nanaimo, New West women advance to finals, men's teams ready for championship

Released by Ellie Lambert, Curl BC/Photo submitted


'Last year's finalist Kelly Scott will be returning to compete in the 2015 Scotties BC Women's Curling Championship'.


he final line-up for the 2015 Scotties BC Womenís Curling Championship, presented by Best Western, has been decided.

Womenís teams met at the Golden Ears Winter Club this weekend to battle for the final two berths for the BC Scotties, which take place at the same venue from January 21-25, 2015.

The A event winner was Team Van Osch who represent Nanaimo Curling Club. The rink was skipped by defending champion Kesa Van Osch, alongside her sister Kalia Van Osch who plays third, second Trysta Vandale and lead Kelsey Steiger.

The B event winner was Team Lewis from Royal City Club. The team, who played seven games over the weekend, is made up of skip Kristy Lewis, third Jody Maskiewich, second Barbara Zbeetnoff and lead Jenn Howard.

These two rinks will be joined at the Scotties by the three teams who qualified at an earlier open event which took place at Kelowna Curling Club in November.

Novemberís A event winners was Team Wark who are skipped by Sarah Wark who was part of the team which recently came third in the Canadian Mixed Curling Championships. She is joined by third Simone Brosseau, second Michelle Allen and lead Rachelle Kallechy.

The B event winner in Kelowna was Team Russett from Kamloops Curling Club. The team is skipped by Amanda Russett, third is Crista Sanbrooks, second is Ashley Nordin and the team is rounded out by lead Courtney Karwandy.

The Kelowna C event winner was Team Knezevic from Prince George. The foursome is made up of skip Patti Knezevic, third Kristen Fewster, second Jen Rusnell and lead Rhonda Camozzi.

The field for the Championships in January is completed by Team Gushulak and Team Scott, who both qualified as Canadian Team Ranking System points winners, and defending champions Team Sivertson.


For more information about the 2015 Scotties BC Womenís Curling Championship, Presented by Best Western, visit here.


The BC Scotties semi-finals and finals on January 25 will be broadcast on Sportsnet. To see the TV schedule, click here.



Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Curling News

Men's Curling Teams Ready

Ten Rinks secure spots for the Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men's Curling Championship

Released by Ellie Lambert, Curl BC/Photo submitted

fter a close fought weekend of action, ten menís curling teams have secured spots for the 2015 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Menís Curling Championship.

Clubs from across the province will be represented at the Championships as the qualifying events saw teams spread from Victoria to Kimberley triumph.

Menís teams without a berth now have just one more chance to qualify for the championship Ė at an open playdown taking place at Peace Arch Curling Club (White Rock) January 9-11 2015.

In a repeat of last yearís result, the A event winner from the playdowns held at Comox Valley Curling Centre was Team Dangerfield, representing Victoria Curling Centre. The rink consists of skip Neil Dangerfield, third Denis Sutton, second Darren Boden and lead Glen Allen.

A team from Victoria Curling Club also won the B event. Team Baier, which is Skip Chris Baier, third Michael Johnson, second Corey Chester and lead Sanjay Bowry, secured their berth by defeating Team Montgomery with a single in the final end.

Team Montgomery bounced back to qualify through the C event though. The team, which is made up of skip Jason Montgomery, third Jody Epp, second Miles Craig, and lead Will Duggan, secured an 11-4 win in their final game.

The Okanagan playdowns, which were held at Vernon Curling Club, produced two winners from Kamloops.

Team DeCap came through two close games to win the A event. Skip Scott DeCap, third Ron Douglas, second Pat DeCap and lead Grant Olsen all hail from Kamloops.

Team Nelson recovered from losing to their clubmates in the A event final to claim the B event qualification spot. The team is skipped by Darren Nelson and is rounded out by third Russ Koffski, second Jared Jenkins and lead Adam Windsor.

Four rinks qualified from the lower mainland playdowns at Cloverdale Curling Club.

The winners of the A event were Team Geall who play out of Royal City Curling Club. The team consists of Skip Sean Geall, third Andrew Bilesky, second Steve Kopf and lead Mark Olson.

The B event was also won by a Royal City rink, Team McArdle. Skip Ken McArdle plays alongside third Chase Martyn, second Cody Johnston and lead Will Sutton.

The other two qualifiers from the lower mainland came through the C event. Team Schnieder from Vancouver Curling Club who secured a berth are skipped by Stephen Schnieder with Jeff Guinard at third, Shawn Eklund at second and Brent Amos at lead. They will be joined at the Championships by Team Dezura who curl out of the Golden Ears Winter Club, they are skip Grant Dezura, third Kevin Mackenzie, second Kevin Recksiedler and lead Jamie Smith.

The final qualifier of the weekend was Team Buchy who came through the Kootenay playdown at Nelson Curling Club undefeated. The rink of skip Tom Buchy, third Dave Stephenson, Dave Toffolo and lead Darren Will hail from the Kimberley Curling Club.

To see the results of Curl BC playdowns, visit www.playdowns.com and search under the British Columbia (Curl BC) tab.

These 10 teams will battle for the title alongside Team Pierce, who qualified as Canadian Team Ranking System points winners, and defending champions Team Cotter. The 2015 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Menís Curling Championship takes place from February 3-8, 2015, at the Vernon Curling Club. Visit here for more information about the event or to purchase tickets.


About Curl BC
Curl BC is the provincial sport governing body responsible for the development, promotion and organization of curling in British Columbia. Curl BC is also responsible for the championship system that declares provincial representation at National events. In cooperation with its Members, Curl BC provides services to both competitive and recreational curlers, including a variety of adaptive groups.


© Copyright (c) 2009-2014 The Valley Voice